Home   Statistics   Registration   Search   Language

More Navigation

Montreal Fireworks Forum —› General —› Good vantage points for taking photos
Last poster Message

Posted: Jun 5, 2004 08:08:33

I'm new to Montreal, and am looking forward to seeing some of the fireworks displays this summer. I'm a photographer, and wish to take photos too. My question is, where are some of the best spots to view and photograph the shows? Can I bring my photo gear and tripod into La Ronde, or are the better (free) places to take photos from?

Thanks,
Dennis

Posted: Jun 5, 2004 09:32:52   Edited by: Smoke

Dennis,

In my experience of viewing the fireworks, I know many people that take photographs where I stand, which is on Notre-Dame and Lorimier intersection. This is located just on the opposite side of the river of where La Ronde is. You really can't miss it. There's A LOT of people who go there. Also, I knew a photographer who used to stand at an even better place, which is all the way up by the steel gate on Notre-Dame, back in the late 1990s( I stood there for almost 10 years!) He was always saying that you can get really nice shots in that spot. This is true, from my viewing experience, back then. Anyways, if you're really looking for a nice spot, you can go right there by the steel gate on Notre-Dame. The only problem is that you'll have to go early to get there. Believe me, it gets very packed and hectic in that area rather quickly, since I've been going there in the past.

If your the type that doesn't want to wait so long or go early, then your best bet is La Ronde. I'm almost more than certain that you can bring a tripod for your camera. The guys who take the pictures for Paul, which are posted on this site, use a tripod, for sure.